Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

“Il faut avoir la passion de comprendre.”

© Irma Coucill & CMHF
2006 Intronisé

Dr Anthony Pawson

Né: 
le 18 octobre 1952 Maidstone, RU
Mort: 
le 7 août 2013
Études: 
BA - Université Cambridge; PhD - Université London
Le docteur Anthony Pawson est un biotechnologiste et un expert en recherche médicale; son travail a engendré de profondes répercussions en recherche biomédicale. Les recherches du le docteur Pawson suscitent également une nouvelle compréhension du rôle des signaux entre les cellules lors du développement d’un cancer. Il découvre qu’une certaine molécule protéique joue un rôle primordial dans la transmission de signaux cancérogènes aux cellules malignes. Cette recherche mène à la création de nouvelles drogues contre le cancer.

Ses études innovatrices sont axées sur les signaux transmis entre les cellules du corps humain et leur modèle de communication. En comprenant la communication cellulaire, les scientifiques peuvent discerner la façon dont le modèle se « désintègre » dans des conditions telles les maladies cardiaques et les déficiences du système immunitaire.

Auteur de plus de 300 articles scientifiques, le Dr Pawson est parmi les scientifiques en recherche biomédicale les plus cités au monde. Il reçoit également de nombreux prix tels que le Prix Michael Smith de recherche en santé des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, le Gairdner Foundation International Award et le Prix Heineken de la Royal Netherlands Academy.

En 2002, le Dr Pawson est nommé directeur des recherches au Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute de l’hôpital Mount Sinaï de Toronto en Ontario.

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

“You have to have a passionate desire to understand. ”

© Irma Coucill and the CMHF
2006 Inductee

Dr. Anthony Pawson

Born: 
October 18, 1952, Maidstone, UK
Died: 
August 7, 2013
Education: 
BA - Cambridge University; PhD - London University
Dr. Anthony Pawson is a biotechnologist and medical research investigator, whose work has had a profound impact on biomedical research. His research has created a new understanding of the role of communication signals between cells in the development of cancer. He discovered that a certain protein molecule plays a critical role in transmitting cancer-inducing signals in malignant cells. This research has led to the development of new drugs to stop the proliferation of cancer cells.

Dr. Pawson's ground-breaking studies have focused on the signals that are transmitted between cells in the human body and how this forms a pattern of communication. By understanding cellular communication, scientists can track how the pattern of communication can “breakdown” in conditions such as heart disease and immune system deficiencies.

As the author of more than 300 scientific articles, Dr. Pawson is among the world’s most frequently cited scientists in biomedical research. He has also received a number of awards including the Michael Smith Prize in Health Research from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Gairdner Foundation International Award and the Heineken Prize from the Royal Netherlands Academy.

In 2002, Dr. Pawson was appointed Director of Research at the Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute of Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto, Ontario.