Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

“Au cours de sa carrière en médecine, il a été un chef de file novateur et un brillant chercheur.”

© Irma Coucill & CMHF
2011 Intronisé

Dr Jonathan Meakins

Né: 
le 18 mai 1882 à Hamilton, Ontario
Mort: 
le 12 octobre 1959
Études: 
MD - Université McGill
Une étude sur les effets de la haute altitude sur la physiologie humaine servit de catalyseur au premier livre du docteur Meakins paru en 1925, Respiratory Function in Disease. Son manuel le plus reconnu, réédité six fois, The Practice of Medicine, paraissait onze ans plus tard. Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, le docteur Meakins se pencha sur le syndrome communément appelé à l’époque Soldier’s Heart (maintenant connu sous l’appellation « trouble de stress post-traumatique ») et sur l’empoisonnement au gaz de combat. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il servit sous les drapeaux au grade de brigadier, en qualité de directeur adjoint des services médicaux. Auteur prolifique, le docteur Meakins publia plus de 160 écrits scientifiques. Le docteur Meakins fut un enseignant et promoteur de la recherche clinique exceptionnel. Brillant chercheur et chef de file novateur, il forma un grand nombre de chercheuses et chercheurs prestigieux dont plusieurs furent intronisés au Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne.

Diplômé de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université McGill en 1904, le Dr Meakins étudia à la Faculté de médecine Johns Hopkins de Baltimore et plus tard à l’Hôpital Presbyterian de la ville de New York. En 1910, à l’âge de 28 ans, le Dr Meakins fut nommé maître de conférences en médecine et pathologie puis, en 1912, directeur de médecine expérimentale à l’Université McGill.

En 1919, il devint titulaire de la chaire Christison de thérapeutique à l’Université d’Édimbourg, où il devint l’un des premiers médecins à étudier et à administrer l’insuline. En 1924, le Dr Meakins fut réembauché par l’Université McGill où il fut professeur et directeur de médecine, médecin-chef à l’Hôpital Royal Victoria et, ce qui fut sans doute son héritage le plus important, directeur de la Clinique universitaire McGill. C’est à cette clinique que le Dr Meakins fit preuve d’un esprit pionnier en initiant des collaborations entre les scientifiques et les cliniciens de la médecine. Moins de deux décennies plus tard, il était nommé doyen de la Faculté de médecine.

Père de deux enfants, le Dr Meakins fut un promoteur de l’assurance-maladie et un excellent administrateur. Père fondateur et premier président du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, il présida de nombreuses organisations telles que l’Association médicale canadienne, l’American College of Physicians et l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale. Son dévouement à la cause de la santé mentale en qualité de scientifique clinicien de renom fut une source d’inspiration et sensibilisa la communauté médicale à ce domaine.

Le Dr Meakins reçut le titre prestigieux de Commandeur de l’Ordre de l’Empire Britannique et deux grades honorifiques. Nommé « Master » de l’American College of Physicians, il fut aussi membre de la Société royale du Canada (1926) et de nombreux collèges des médecins, en Grande-Bretagne et au Canada. Les Laboratoires Meakins-Christie furent nommés en son honneur en reconnaissance de ses nombreuses contributions à l’Université McGill.

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

“His career highlights an innovative leader and a brilliant investigator.”

© Irma Coucill and the CMHF
2011 Inductee

Dr. Jonathan Meakins

Born: 
May 18, 1882, Hamilton, Ontario
Died: 
October 12, 1959
Education: 
MD - McGill University
A study on the effects of high altitude on human physiology served as the catalyst for Dr. Meakins’ first book in 1925 titled, "Respiratory Function in Disease". Eleven years later, he would publish his most widely recognized textbook, which would have six editions, titled: "The Practice of Medicine". During World War I, Meakins studied war-gas poisoning and Soldier's Heart (now referred to as post-traumatic stress disorder) and, in World War II, he served as Deputy Director of Medical Services with the rank of Brigadier. As a prolific writer Dr. Meakins authored more than 160 scientific publications. As a brilliant investigator and innovative leader, he was responsible for the training of many prestigious men and women researchers, some of whom have become laureates of The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

Graduating in medicine from McGill University in 1904, Dr. Meakins studied at Johns Hopkins Medical School in Baltimore and later in New York City at Presbyterian Hospital. In 1910, at the age of 28, Dr. Meakins was appointed lecturer in Medicine and Pathology, and in 1912, director of Experimental Medicine at McGill University. He was appointed in 1919 the Christison professor of Therapeutics at the University of Edinburgh, where he became one of the first to administer and study insulin.

In 1924, he was recruited back to McGill where he assumed the titles of professor and chair of Medicine, physician-in-chief at Royal Victoria Hospital and, perhaps his greatest legacy, director of the McGill University Clinic. It was at the Clinic that Dr. Meakins demonstrated his pioneering spirit by initiating collaborations between basic medical scientists and clinicians. Less than two decades later he was named dean of the Faculty of Medicine.

A father of two, Dr. Meakins was an advocate of health insurance and an excellent administrator. Founding father and first president of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, he presided over numerous other organizations, such as the Canadian Medical Association, the American College of Physicians, and the Canadian Mental Health Association. His dedication to mental health as an acclaimed clinical scientist served as an inspiration to others and subsequently raised its awareness in the medical community.

Awarded the esteemed title of Commander of the Order of the British Empire, Dr. Meakins also received two honourary degrees and was named Master by the American College of Physicians. He was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1926) as well as multiple Royal Colleges in Britain and Canada. His many contributions to McGill University have been commemorated in The Meakins-Christie Laboratories.